18 Weeks to IC14

I’m a sweaty person.

The looks I receive and groans of disgust directed my way when someone bumps into me at footy training tells the whole story.

For those of you who may not necessarily have first hand knowledge of this fact, count your blessings, and take my word for it.

And when you take a naturally sweaty person and introduce them to hot yoga, where the room temperature is between 35 and 40°C, it’s not a pretty sight.

Regardless, for the past couple of months each Friday evening, Jen and I have been resolutely making our way to a hot power flow class in downtown Toronto. I’m not an experience yoga practitioner, and before this I’d only been to 2 or 3 yoga classes, and it definitely showed at first. However, despite some halfhearted objections from Jen, I’ve managed to keep dragging her out each week, and I personally have most definitely seen progression in my balance, flexibility, and core strength. Even though she doesn’t want to admit it, Jen has said the same thing.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m never going to be completely comfortable in this class…not for any sort of male machismo reasons: I genuinely enjoy going to yoga and trying something new each week. No, it always comes back to the fact that I’m a ridiculously sweaty person. Throughout the course of the 75 minute class, it’s a guarantee that I’ll have lost almost 5 pounds of body weight in sweat alone. Not to mention the not-so-exhilarating experience of having liquid constantly flowing into my nose and mouth every downward dog I perform: I’m guessing it’s my body’s way of trying to tell me to stop through this self-inflicted Chinese water torture.

Still, once the class is over, and I step out of the sweat box that is more prominently known as the yoga studio, my whole body feels great. Hot, sweaty, and often sore, but great nonetheless.

The plan for the foreseeable future is to keep this yoga train a-rolling for at least our preseason, and hopefully once we get into the actual season and the push to IC14 in August, we’ll still be able to find time to get our yoga on.

At the end of our last class, we lassoed our instructor to take a video of us doing a relatively simple flow, and the video link is below.

One thought on “18 Weeks to IC14

Leave a Reply

